Plan of attack – Thin Mints, my nemesis.

I’ve said it before. I meant it. We all surely need to indulge in those things we absolutely love…once in a while.

But here I am. Looking at a bag of thin mints. This is my nemesis. These ARE the thing that I’m willing to indulge in.  I can say no to SO many things. My problem is that I love thin mints SO much that it’s hard to stick to that “indulge once in a while” part.

Image

So for accountability’s sake, I’m saying it here. I have a plan of attack for this dark day…the day the thin mints arrived. I will be packaging them in the little snack sized ziplocks according to the serving size. The serving size is 4 cookies. And there is MORE than enough calories, fat & sugar in those 4 cookies, so I’ll stick with that. Anyhow, my plan of attack is date each baggie. 1 baggie every other day. This is a HUGE improvement of my normal plan. Which is to see how fast I can eat 4 boxes, apparently. I’ll indulge still, but I’m attempting to only make it every other day, and keeping it to the serving size.

By the way, I normally wouldn’t endorse your indulgences to be every other day. I’m just being real here. If I used to eat one whole SLEEVE per night, I figure I don’t have the willpower to only eat 4 cookies once a week. You think I’m being too easy on myself? Any votes for pushing myself a little further and dating these baggies ONE per week??

Did anyone else get girl scout cookies this year? Am I the only one hopelessly addicted?

 

~~~~~

UPDATE:

Alas, I was unable to control my thin mint addiction. Seriously. I finished a box in 2 days. So. I did the only thing I could think to do…I gave the rest of the boxes away. If I don’t have them at all, then I can’t eat entire boxes in 2 days, now can I?

Sad I couldn’t control it, but glad I at least had the willpower to do something about it. Though it was slightly painful to give them away, I’m sure happier in the long run.

How’s everyone else faring with their girl scout cookie addictions?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Amy on March 5, 2012 - 4:41 pm

    I think it’s a great plan. I purchased three boxes of cookies…and believe it or not…I ate 3 or 4 thin mints while at work…then put all three boxes somewhere in that massive pantry of mine, and forgot all about them! So far, my plan is working!!

    I think your plan is good…I mean you only have these cookies this time of year…and you may decide on your cookie day that you don’t want them and it’s more like every three days than every two days. Or, maybe you should split the serving size and do only two cookies every two days then it would be closer to the indulging once a week, you’re just breaking it up.

    Anything from keeping yourself to eating the whole box or sleeve is an improvement!

    • #2 by Amy Romero on March 5, 2012 - 4:55 pm

      You’re probably right actually, I may end up skipping some since I don’t *crave* sugar like I used to. Let’s hope for that. hmm….I’ll update in a few days on how I’m doing!!! 🙂

  1. Don’t Give Up {we all have slip ups!} « Amy Romero Fitness

Leave a Reply

