My very own super-delicious & nutritious hearty turkey chili

Do you ever get into a habit that you didn’t even realize you were in? For instance, I have a habit of fixing the same dishes the same way for YEARS. How about you? Like, say, are you in the habit of thinking chili had to stick to certain rules? I’ve been thinking…wouldn’t it be great if I made something “like chili, but better”? But that wouldn’t be chili. Right? I’m a rule-follower. So it took me like 3 weeks of thinking this before I finally decided… screw it. I can do what I want to chili and it’s still chili.

Well. Let me tell you. I’m glad I did.

Because this was extra delicious and extra nutritious. Oh and it lasted us like 3 dinners. Can’t beat that. Look at that…doesn’t it make you want to get a spoon & dip some up through your screen?

Image

Yum!

So I thought I’d share the recipe with you. But, as I just learned…who need recipes?? So please, just make this your own. My point here was to make this super hearty and heart-healthy with LOTS of veggies. You could totally do all sorts of different kinds of veggies. Own it. It’s just chili.

Amy’s Better Turkey Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1lb super lean ground turkey (of course, you could use tofu or something in place of this!)
  • 14 oz light red kidney beans
  • 14 oz hot chili beans (or you could try cannellini, navy, etc)
  • About 1/2 bag frozen corn
  • About 1/2 bag frozen peas
  • Large can organic diced tomatoes (not drained)
  • Couple garlic cloves, diced
  • 1/2 cup water – or vegetable broth
  • 1 packet reduced sodium chili seasoning (or make your own!)
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

Instructions:

This is a very forgiving dish! Heat olive oil over medium heat for a minute or so. Add the turkey and cook through. Do not drain. If you have very lean meat, there will be very little grease, so keep it in for flavor. Add the rest of the ingredients. All of them. Then bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes or so. The longer the better for flavor’s sake. This could also be done in a crockpot. I’d think it would work on low for 6-8 hours. Play with different veggies if you’d like. I think squash would be good in this too.

Tell me below, what’s your favorite way to have chili?

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

