A Clean Eating lunch recipe from me to you {Chicken avocado mash}

I’m always on a search for something I can make me and the hubs that is healthy, easy, and totally packable for lunches. Oh and that I don’t have to prepare nightly. Oh and it has to be filling. And did I mention healthy…? Clean eating can be easy, I promise!

Well here you go. This is it. I figured it out and I’ll share it with you.

mmmm….doesn’t this look ooey gooey, delicious? It is. Trust me.

Image

I’m sorry, I don’t have a ‘print recipe’ plugin that is available for this type of blog. Please do use the print button below this post, or from your browser to print – or copy/paste elsewhere to print…or of course PIN IT ~ there’s a handy button for that below this post too! 🙂

INGREDIENTS

4 Boneless skinless chicken tenderloins (can use tofu or white beans as an alternative)

1 ripe avocado

1/4-1/2 cup Nonfat plain greek yogurt

1 cup washed broccoli florets

1/2 cup sliced grape tomatoes

1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice (concentrate is okay)

salt, pepper, chipotle pepper to taste

Make It

Cook plain chicken tenderloins until no longer pink. Chop into bite-sized pieces. Cut avocado into small pieces. In a large bowl, smash avocado with a fork and add the chicken, lemon juice, broccoli, and tomatoes. Stir together. Add 1/4 cup greek yogurt and stir. Check the consistency, if you like your food a little less ‘saucy’, this is probably enough for you. If you want it creamier, add a little more greek yogurt. Add salt, pepper, and chipotle pepper to taste. That’s it.

Serve in a while wheat pita with a bed of mixed greens.

Yum.

This recipe is very forgiving. You can absolutely add more or less of anything. Replace stuff. Throw in red peppers. Capers. Whatever your heart desires. The more veggies you add, the healthier this becomes AND the more voluminous it is – which will make it stretch even further. I take the mashup and divide it into two large to-go containers…one for my hubby and one for me. We put it at in the fridge at work & just bring new pitas & mixed greens every day to assemble at lunch time. It usually makes about 4 lunches, so we each have 2 days of lunch covered for very little time and effort. I may just double the recipe next time so we each get 4 days of lunches. We’re not afraid of repetition, especially when it’s THIS delicious and healthy!

So there you have it, an easy, healthy, clean eating recipe for your lunches. Or dinners. What do you think?

Okay, now go eat! I know I just made you hungry…

, , ,

  1. #1 by Stephanie Williams on June 8, 2013 - 8:19 pm

    It looks yummilicious. We’ll be giving it a try!

    • #2 by Amy Romero on June 9, 2013 - 9:13 pm

      Thanks! I’m sure you’ll love it 🙂

  2. #3 by Cynthia aka BamaGal on June 9, 2013 - 8:56 pm

    Would have loved to make your lunch.. but you had no print this recipe button… Wished you did have one… Sorry..

    • #4 by Amy Romero on June 9, 2013 - 9:08 pm

      I wish I could! I use wordpress.com and can’t insert things like that — but you can definitely try copy/pasting into a document, that should work 🙂 Thanks for checking it out!

  3. #5 by Stephanie Williams on June 18, 2013 - 10:11 pm

    Oh yes, that’s what I did. Copy and paste into a document and boom, it’ll print right out!

  4. #7 by paula on July 7, 2013 - 3:19 pm

    How many servings & serving size?

    • #8 by Amy Romero on July 12, 2013 - 7:04 pm

      For us, it makes about 6 servings…IF I include some beans to make it bigger. Never measured a serving, but I’d guess what I usually eat is about a cup. Maybe 3/4. How technical is that???! 🙂

Leave a Reply

